Greetings from Los Angeles

TomBeltran

Greetings from Los Angeles

Post by TomBeltran » Sun Jan 28, 2018 10:04 pm

I've looked at topics here over the years, but cannot remember if I've registered. In any case, there is a lot of great information, and this forum seems to be one of the busiest I've seen.

I've been building classical guitars since the mid-1970s. Initially, I followed the Romanillos pictorial in the Evans book, Guitars from Renaissance to Rock, and his chapter in Making Musical Instruments, edited by Charles Ford. It was only a few weeks ago that I got Romanillos' "new" book. It was interesting to see that he is using wedges to secure the sides to the neck. When I studied with Richard Schneider in 1983, that was how he attached the sides, but he used spruce wedges and did not glue them in.

I studied with a few different builders early on, in an on and off again fashion. The first consistent assistance I got was with Bob Mattingly, whom I met at the GAL's Estes Park convention in the early 1980s. I've build several guitars using his Rodriquez pattern. In 1983, as I said, I studied with Richard Schneider, and continued to get advice from him until his death in the early 1990s. In the early 1990's, I also studied with Buzz Feiten, I still have the guitar that we worked on.