Hello from Redlands, California

chris in redlands

Hello from Redlands, California

Post by chris in redlands » Mon Jan 29, 2018 9:15 pm

Hello, all. In searching for a resource for information about classical guitar, I've found my way to this forum and looked around enough to identify it as an active forum with what appears to be a friendly user base. I'm an avid hack. I started playing guitar as a kid, and over the years have played acoustic steel string and electric guitar, electric bass (in a few garage bands), almost every instrument the schools I attended owned in both band and orchestra (upright bass, trombone, baritone horn, euphonium, tuba, etc.) harmonica, on and on. But I've never been any good at any of them, despite having taken a good bit of instruction on the piano and guitar. Always too impatient, and always had instructors that would eventually cave to my request to "show me how to play Stairway!" so my technique was never any good, and I've probably developed bad habits over the years on all these instruments.

When I was a kid, my dad had a Pepe Romero album that I loved to listen to. I still like Romero. His album with Celin Famous Spanish Dances is, to me, a lot like one of the many Pavarotti albums that are a collection of popular arias; not exactly obscure gems, but I could listen to them a thousand times. I really started listening to classical guitar a while ago, and have been devouring the Segovia and His Contemporaries albums for the last couple of years, while trying to learn more about the history of the genre. My wife and I are long-time subscribers to the LA Phil, and despite having attended dozens of performances, we've never seen a guitar played at the Walt Disney Concert Hall, which saddens me, as it seems the inroads Segovia made for the instrument didn't stick.