Greetings from Wales :)

el Zilcho

Greetings from Wales :)

Post by el Zilcho » Fri Feb 09, 2018 5:10 pm

Hello guys :bye:

First off thanks so much for your contributions to this forum, it's such a fantastic resource to be able to freely tap into.
I've been learning guitar for nearly 20 years and I can't believe that its took me so long to figure out that joining an online forum might actually be great idea. :roll:

I'm self taught, undisciplined, intermittently focused and oozing with horrendous habits. Gaping holes in my skills and knowledge.. but i'm always trying and I love it. I think as ive progressed and opened new doors in my skillset ive come to recognise just how far I have to go before i'll feel in any way accomplished.

I began my learning at around 15 on a mutilated old steel 12 string (strung with 6 strings) which I strummed until I could afford my first "proper" guitar.. a cheap ibanez. I took a liking to fingerstyle and gravitated towards the likes of paul simon, nick drake, jose gonzales and stuff like that. Painstakingly figuring out tunes note for note (pause/rewind ad infinitum). I remained content for a while... until my first twang of a nylon string.. some battered 1/2 size classical bought for a fiver at a car boot sale. That was enough for me... goodbye steel strings ..I set them aside, cast them away, denounced them.. .. .ok a bit dramatic but the point is, I never looked back. Eventually I bought a washburn c80s and for the past 3 years or so i've been lost in classical guitar and it's been a beautiful adventure.