Introductory Post

cjdupree

Introductory Post

Post by cjdupree » Wed Jan 30, 2019 6:22 pm

Hello, my name is Christina. I have been playing guitar for about 13 years. My father is a blues guitarist, so he started teaching me how to play whenever I was young, around eight years old. I can remember the very first song that I learned to play, it was 'This Land is Your Land'. I am new to classical guitar, but I am very interested in learning how to play it. My favorite kind of music is anything rock or alternative. I am currently working on the song 'Phantom Rider' by Tora Tora. There have been times where I wouldn't play my guitar as often as I should have. Although, I am trying to get back into the habit of playing daily. I believe that it is good for the soul and therapeutic. :)

oski79

Re: Introductory Post

Post by oski79 » Wed Jan 30, 2019 7:14 pm

Welcome to Delcamp, Christina!

This website is devoted to classical guitar, so I hope it works for you. A little classical technique goes a long way in other styles!

If you haven't already, please take a moment to read this page for a good rundown on how the forum works, rules, history, etc. You have found a great source of classical guitar knowledge, as we have a wide assortment of members, from beginners to performing artists, with a number of fine teachers, historians, and luthiers. So feel free to ask any questions you might have, but consider using the search function first, as many topics have already been discussed at length.

If you participate in other online forums, you might notice that things can occasionally get heated. We work hard to keep that from happening on Delcamp. Please read Mssr. Delcamp’s thoughts on the subject.

Please note that there is a requirement to post an average of once a month. Members not meeting this standard may have their memberships terminated.

Adding your location to your profile is a nice touch. Many of us have made new friends from doing just that.