Hello from Washington State

AKim

Hello from Washington State

Post by AKim » Mon Feb 04, 2019 11:01 pm

Hello all and thank you for allowing me to join the forum!

My name is AKim, and I live in the upper left hand corner of Washington.

I started out on classical violin when I was 6, and my primary training is classical orchestral and ensemble. But I didn’t really like violin. I got my first guitar when I was 13, a cheap rental that my parents eventually bought for me. Might have been a Franciscan, thick chunky neck and horrible intonation. But it was all mine, and I was obsessed with learning guitar. My first teacher only taught folk guitar, but she loaned me a two volume Noad book, and since I had a solid understanding of music, I worked my way through both volumes. There were no classical guitar teachers in my little town, and my mother preferred that I continue with violin, not guitar anyway. I started studying electric blues guitar when I was 16, eventually spent a couple years as a secondary music ed major in college before I dropped out. There was a sizable block of years where I was busy raising two babies, and music kind of took a back burner.

Ten years ago I had the opportunity to purchase a classical guitar that belonged to a friend who had passed away. It is a José Ramirez 4E from 2002. And so I started playing classical again, but it’s been on and off over the past decade due to the time constraints of owning a business and the physical demands of being a pro gardener. But this year I decided that things needed to change, and I am trying to spend at least an hour a day practicing. I’ll never reach a serious level at this point, but I enjoy the discipline, and it makes me a better fingerstyle acoustic player.

I’m looking forward to getting to know all of you and having the chance to iron out some of the more challenging parts that come from being self-taught.

GeoffB
Chief moderator
Chief moderator

Re: Hello from Washington State