Hello from Los Angeles/Sherman Oaks, the Valley!

macnylonguitar

Hello from Los Angeles/Sherman Oaks, the Valley!

Post by macnylonguitar » Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:18 am

Greetings, John K here...

I have been playing 46 years, haver a Bachelor's of Music degree in jazz and classical guitar from Western Connecticut State University, 1987

Professionally, I have been an Apple systems engineer for many many years, having worked at Apple HQ in 2001-2003, iTunes 1.0... Trust me all things guitar, and especially nylon guitar are by a wide margin, far more fun and interesting.

It wasn't until after 5 plus years after I graduated in 1987 that I was introduced to the likes of "fingerstyle" guitar: steel string payers initially, then nlyon: Preston Reed, Chris Proctor, Pierre Bensusan, and solo Earl Klugh.

I took a class with John Knowles (Chet Atkins good friend) and asked him about right hand tone and technique, and he said Chet told him (and others) "find a teacher that will teach you that, without necessarily having to swear an allegiance to any musical genre". I ventured out, and found Ben Verdery at Yale in New Haven, CT, and took no more than two lessons...got my nails and tone majorly improved, and on my way.

Since I started guitar when I was 8, I was always drawn to the nylon guitar, and the first piece I Iearned (by ear, no transcription) was "Mood For a Day" by Steve Howe (Yes). Thumb and index only...(make it harder on myself). Later I got much more efficient right hand fingerings..

Even after being influenced by countless guitarists of so many genres: some of which were: Al Di Meola, Wes Montgomery, Allan Holdsworth, etc., I heard Earl Klugh's Solo Guitar album, and was stunned and mezmorized.. no overdubs..