Greetings from Louisiana

danielainsworthcg

Greetings from Louisiana

Post by danielainsworthcg » Tue Feb 05, 2019 3:09 pm

Hey!

My name is Daniel and I am a classical guitar player, teacher, composer, and arranger from Louisiana. I've been playing guitar (acoustic, then classical) since 2007. I started by teaching myself with hours of rote practice one summer in middle school and have since developed a passion for the instrument in all its glory. I took lessons in public school from 2010-2012, then studied at Centenary College of Louisiana, graduating Summa Cum Laude with a BA in music. During that time I performed a senior recital which included a wide span of works from Villa-Lobos and Albeniz to Mark Francis (modern Southern guitar composer) and Carcassi.

My main interests around the guitar include: practicing (currently working through the Carcassi etudes again), composing (I've written a dance suite for guitar trio and a more modern sounding "haiku" for 2 guitars), arranging (pop and classical tunes), and teaching (I have c. 10 students, 3 of which are classical guitar focused.

Other than that, I am one of the founders and the director of the fledgling Shreveport Classical Guitar Society, which is an amateur group of musicians performing solo and ensemble pieces. We've had just 2 concerts so far, which were well attended, and are busy working on a third one to take place in late June.

I hope to stay connected and share compositions/arrangements with other like-minded folks on this site! Thanks already for being friendly!
I remain,
Daniel Ainsworth
Director, Shreveport Classical Guitar Society

oski79

Re: Greetings from Louisiana

Post by oski79 » Tue Feb 05, 2019 3:13 pm

Welcome to Delcamp!