Does anyone have a recommendation on any collections of Turlough O'Carolan arrangements? (several listed within)

A "classroom" environment for exchanging Technical Questions & Answers, How-To's, music theory concepts, etc.
Jason Kulas
Student of the online lessons

Does anyone have a recommendation on any collections of Turlough O'Carolan arrangements? (several listed within)

Post by Jason Kulas » Thu Jan 31, 2019 2:47 pm

I'm looking at some books of O'Carolan arrangements, trying to figure-out which ones to buy. I'm buying online, so I can't look through the books first. I'm wondering if anyone owns any of these and can comment about them, to help me decide what to buy.

Or do you know of other good books?

How well-done are the arrangements? What difficulty level are the pieces within? How much do you enjoy the selection of pieces chosen? etc.

I'm a beginner, but looking for music I love, to strive for.

1) Turlough O'Carolan's Compositions, Bournet, http://www.pascalbournet.info/editions/ ... anguage=en

2) Deluxe Anthology of O'Carolan Music for Fingerstyle Guitar, Grossman, published by Mel Bay

3) O'Carolan Guitar Arrangements, Stevens, published by Mel Bay

4) O'Carolan Favorites for Classical Guitar, Boger, published by Mel Bay

5) Turlough O'Carolan Irish Harp Pieces for Classical Guitar, Boger, published by Mel Bay

6) O’Carolan’s Ramble: The Music of Turlough O’Carolan For Fingerstyle Guitar, Wood, https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/435 ... n-s-ramble

7) O'Carolan for Everyone, Hinchliffe, https://www.keithhinchliffe.com/carolanforeveryone.html (suggested in thread)

8 ) Carolan's Dream, Hinchliffe

9) Celtic Harp Music Of Carolan And Others For Solo Guitar, Glenn Weiser (suggested in thread)
Last edited by Jason Kulas on Thu Feb 07, 2019 3:19 pm, edited 5 times in total.
Beginner. Yamaha G-50A. Connecticut, USA

Frank Nordberg

Re: Does anyone have a recommendation on any collections of Turlough O'Carolan arrangements? (several listed within)