Bach minuet in G, or in A?

A "classroom" environment for exchanging Technical Questions & Answers, How-To's, music theory concepts, etc.
sayar

Bach minuet in G, or in A?

Post by sayar » Thu Oct 25, 2012 2:12 am

I am practicing the book "Progressive Classical Guitar Method: For Beginner to Intermediate Students [Book 1] " by Jason Waldron. The famous minuet by JS Bach which everywhere else is in G, is presented in A in this book. This is a simplified (short) version for beginners.
I am practicing on this piece but would also like to learn the "real" one later which is in G.
My question is, how different are these two? How can a music that is originally in G, be converted to A and still make same sound?
Answer may be too obvious, but I'm a beginner and am trying to understand things better.
Thank you

David Norton

Re: Bach minuet in G, or in A?

Post by David Norton » Thu Oct 25, 2012 3:39 am

It is very common to transpose music written for piano (harpsichord, etc) into another key which is better suited to the guitar. The key of A major (on guitar) allows the use of open bass strings, so it is very guitar-friendly. G major is a more technically demanding key (on guitar), and so that is why the change would be made.

Getting bogged down in the whole "I want to play it in the original key!" mindset is a surefire path to stress and upsettedness. Because, while this particular Minuet "can" be played in G major on guitar, and sound rather nice, what about a piece originally written in Bb major, or Db minor? Then the technical demands on the left hand become immense, far disproportionate to the level of music involved.
David Norton
Salt Lake City, UT
First person to complete the Delcamp "Let's Learn Sor's Opus 60" project

Jeffrey.C

Post by Jeffrey.C » Sun Oct 28, 2012 11:16 pm