I promise to stop torturing...

Talk about things that are not necessarily related to music or the guitar.
dan5001

I promise to stop torturing...

Post by dan5001 » Tue May 14, 2019 5:33 pm

... pieces that are too difficult for me.
I guess like many self taught folk, I've spent years half learning and mangling some of the classics.
So, now I'm just going to play easy pieces beautifully.
My question is, can anyone recommend simple pieces that, played expressively, can sound great. My level is I would say around lagrima, mia favorita, slightly sub sons de carillhoes etc.

Ps, on reflection, I will continue to torture cavatina and the first Asturias triplet section but no more than 3 days a week.

Thanks all 🙂

Steve O

Re: I promise to stop torturing...

Post by Steve O » Wed May 15, 2019 3:36 am

La Paloma and Habanera from Carmen sound nice and reasonable arrangements can be found.

robin loops

Post by robin loops » Wed May 15, 2019 4:13 am

You’ll find that now that you are going to be working on pieces within your range of ability, that not only will you learn new pieces much more quickly and play them better, but that your overall technique will improve at a more steady rate.

Some of the 20 Sor studies (Segovia) are pretty musical, not too difficult, and serve useful didactic purposes. 2, 3, and 5 are a good starting point. An anthology of pieces ranging from below your level to just above is a good resource to have and read something new from it on a regular basis (daily, weekly, depending on your routine and schedule).
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them, One Ring to bring them all, and in the darkness bind them.
-James-

Yisrael van Handel

Post by Yisrael van Handel » Wed May 15, 2019 6:58 am

dan5001 wrote:
Tue May 14, 2019 5:33 pm
So, now I'm just going to play easy pieces beautifully.
My question is, can anyone recommend simple pieces that, played expressively, can sound great.
Thanks all 🙂