When to change strings

Choice of classical guitar strings and technical issues connected with their use.
Bill-stl

When to change strings

Post by Bill-stl » Sun Jan 14, 2018 12:43 am

I recently started playing again after a layoff of several years. Do strings go bad just sitting? They sound fine to me and don't show signs of wear, but I have never seen this discussed and was thinking of changing them just to see if new strings sound different.

Cincy2

Re: When to change strings

Post by Cincy2 » Sun Jan 14, 2018 10:30 am

After that long a time, I would definitely change them. Being under tension for that long would affect intonation at least. Depending on the environment in which they were stored, there could be corrosion issues also.

Cincy
A wood box, empty
A sensitive heart, too full
You and I connect.

Laudiesdad69

Post by Laudiesdad69 » Sun Jan 14, 2018 3:43 pm

I just went through a set of Hannabach Exclusive MT that, although they have only been on the guitar for a little over a month, and show absolutely no wear on the basses, sound subdued and dull. This with less than 30 hours of play on them. In actuality it is more or less about 16 hours. They went dull just sitting there basically. They lost that special something that they had when I first put them on. I have had other strings which have kept their new sound, even though they sat in the case, on the guitar, for months without being played. But it ain't so with these strings.

I would definitely change your strings if they sat there for a year or two. Humidity and temperature changes won't do them any favors. I suggest that you tune it up and play a little on the old strings, just so you will be able to compare how good the new ones will sound after you put them on.

oski79

Post by oski79 » Sun Jan 14, 2018 4:22 pm