Tuning Hard and Normal Tension Strings

Choice of classical guitar strings and technical issues connected with their use.
Regulus

Tuning Hard and Normal Tension Strings

Post by Regulus » Mon Jan 29, 2018 11:02 pm

Hi.

I'm new to the nylon string and have an observation that has me puzzled.
My first nylon string guitar ( a solid top cheapy) had, over the course of our brief association, a set of normal tension Pro Arte and a set of Flamenco Pro Arte strings installed.
I found that after a time the wound strings settled in and would maintain a semblance of tuning, while the nylon strings (1/2/3) needed regular attention.
Now with a new guitar (though I don't think this is the cause) that came strung with a set of Savarez, whose type and model etc., is indeterminate, but whose tension is notably high, I find the reverse. The unwound strings have settled nicely and require only monitoring, and maybe a touch-up, but the wound strings are very flat every time I pick it up.
I have stretched them 3 times by lifting them significantly clear of the fretboard, as I would steel strings on my other guitars when re-stringing, and yet they go on stretching and going flat hour to hour. I have in the past week since purchasing the instrument, played it for around 25 hours, and it's a bit annoying to have it going flat in the bass as I play.
Q: Is this the nature of Savarez strings, or a standard outcome of high tension over normal.
I like the response of the bass strings, but find the unwound strings need a bit of pressure to activate them. They aren't as sensitive to touch as the Pro Arte normals were, and the sustain isn't as good either.
I think I will try a mixed set from Augustine next of High Tension wound, and Normal unwound.
Meanwhile, if someone here can unravel what seems an odd thing to me about the difference I have experienced between the Normal and High tension tuning of these sets, I would be grateful.

Cheers - Trevor

prawnheed