Beginner Resources to Learn Classical Notation (Suggestions))

Classical Guitar technique: studies, scales, arpeggios, theory
Forum rules
IV Laws governing the quotation/citation of music

For discussion of studies, scales, arpeggios and theory.
Nathan Stumpf

Beginner Resources to Learn Classical Notation (Suggestions))

Post by Nathan Stumpf » Fri Jan 19, 2018 8:57 pm

Good day everyone,

As all of you know, most classical guitar pieces are written in notation rather than TAB. I'm willing to put the time in every day to learn how to read music notation from scratch. I'm 40 years old and the last time I took a music theory class was in the 6th grade! I'm lucky if I know a quarter note from a half. :oops:

If anyone has any (absolute beginner) suggestions on how to get started learning classical notation for guitar I would be very grateful.

There are so many books out there it's intimidating. My ignorance doesn't allow me to make an educated choice. I'm not sure if I would need something specifically aimed at classical guitar (to make it easier perhaps) or if it doesn't really matter.

Any feedback would be great! Books, Web-sites, etc.

Appreciate you all!

Nate

Erik Zurcher

Re: Beginner Resources to Learn Classical Notation (Suggestions))

Post by Erik Zurcher » Fri Jan 19, 2018 9:13 pm

Reedition Domingo Esteso by Conde Hermanos 2004; Kenny Hill, model Barcelona 2001
"While you try to master classical guitar, prepare for a slave's life: the guitar will forever be your master and you its slave".

Nathan Stumpf

Post by Nathan Stumpf » Sat Jan 20, 2018 2:39 am

Erik Zurcher wrote:
Fri Jan 19, 2018 9:13 pm
viewtopic.php?f=130&t=79606
Excellent Erik! A great place to start :) Thank you very much for the link and have a great weekend.

Nate

Rognvald

Post by Rognvald » Sun Jan 21, 2018 2:59 pm

Nathan,
If you don't want to waste time . . . get a good teacher. You'll progress much faster than trying to teach yourself. Playing again . . . Rognvald