Picking up the classical guitar after many years

Classical Guitar technique: studies, scales, arpeggios, theory
Forum rules
IV Laws governing the quotation/citation of music

For discussion of studies, scales, arpeggios and theory.
szurcio

Picking up the classical guitar after many years

Post by szurcio » Sat Dec 08, 2018 2:27 am

I'm 47 now. I recently started playing the classical guitar on a regular basis after about 25-27 years of not playing or playing only sporadically without any method or plan (change of interests and a job that didn't have much to do with music performance, emigration). I used to have a pretty good guitar technique in my early twenties, playing some advanced repertoire - Bach's fugues, Recuerdos de la Alhambra, etc. My tremolo was good, I was able to play it pretty effortlessly at high speeds. Now it feels like my fingers have to learn it from scratch and it's frustrating. That's the reason for some of my posts here. I wonder if I'll be ever able to re-learn how my fingers used to work and reach the level I was at then but I'm doing my best. Even some improvement would be good. I just enjoy it and I wish I had never stopped playing for such a long time. It's hard but I'll keep practicing.

Frank Nordberg

Re: Picking up the classical guitar after many years

Post by Frank Nordberg » Mon Dec 10, 2018 4:42 am

szurcio wrote:
Sat Dec 08, 2018 2:27 am
I wonder if I'll be ever able to re-learn how my fingers used to work and reach the level I was at then but I'm doing my best.
Unless there are some medical conditions limiting you fingers' agility, yes, sure.

The second time is always both easier and harder than the first time. Harder because you are less patient and have higher expectations, easier because you now know how to avoid some of the pitfalls and because although much of your skills are buried deep in your memory, it's still there.

iulian

Post by iulian » Fri Dec 14, 2018 8:19 am

You and me both brother :)