Jazz on Classical guitar

Classical Guitar technique: studies, scales, arpeggios, theory
Forum rules
IV Laws governing the quotation/citation of music

For discussion of studies, scales, arpeggios and theory.
Ali Hamdani

Jazz on Classical guitar

Post by Ali Hamdani » Thu Jan 31, 2019 6:39 pm

Hey,

I have been practicing classical guitar for a couple of years now and I came to conclusions that I wanted to start branching out into other genres of music besides the typical classical rep. I wanted to get started in jazz but I still like to tone and techniques of classical guitar so I wanted to stick to my current instrument as opposed to getting a jazz guitar. (TBH to me jazz guitars sound like a electric guitar holding its nose :D ) I know there are some artist out there that play but I really like the style of Charlie Byrd. I think he does an amazing job combining the two styles and he also does a lot of latin american music.

So my questions is I am trying to come up with a routine to practice jazz guitar on the nylon string and I was wondering if there were any good resources out there. So jazz theory is pretty standard throughout all instruments but what I am having trouble with is how guitarist approach arpeggios, I have reading jazz guitar books on arpeggios and there fingerings are hard on the classical. So any tips on how to approach arpeggios and jazz in general.

Thanks,

Mark Clifton-Gaultier

Re: Jazz on Classical guitar

Post by Mark Clifton-Gaultier » Thu Jan 31, 2019 9:00 pm

Jazz Guitar for Classical Cats (Andrew York) useful.
Ralph Towner produced a work-book, Improvisation and Performance Techniques for Classical and Acoustic Guitar.

simonm

Post by simonm » Thu Jan 31, 2019 9:15 pm

There seems to be plenty of Charlie Byrd publications. I have never tried them but he is one of the greats.

Frank Nordberg

Post by Frank Nordberg » Fri Feb 01, 2019 3:16 pm

This thread is not complete without mentioning Laurindo Almeida!