Critique my technique! Carcassi Op. 60 No. 1

Classical Guitar technique: studies, scales, arpeggios, theory
Forum rules
IV Laws governing the quotation/citation of music

For discussion of studies, scales, arpeggios and theory.
lev

Critique my technique! Carcassi Op. 60 No. 1

Post by lev » Wed Feb 06, 2019 6:17 pm

Hi All,

I have been playing classical guitar for about four months and have been studying the Carcassi Etude Op. 60 No. 1 for the past month and a half. I was hoping to get some advice about my technique and posture as I feel there might be some issues and I'd like to avoid to developing bad habits early on.

Specifically, I notice that (1) my right arm seems to contact the guitar further towards the bottom of the guitar than other players (so that the arm is approaching being parallel with the neck) and (2) sometimes my RH wrist seems to be "depressed" rather than "arched" - i.e. my wrist is below the largest knuckles on the hand rather than above.

Any comments, instructional videos, or suggested exercises would be much appreciated!

Last edited by lev on Wed Feb 06, 2019 11:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Christopher Langley
Student of the online lessons

Re: Critique my technique! Carcassi Op. 60 No. 1

Post by Christopher Langley » Wed Feb 06, 2019 8:48 pm

I'm nobody but.. I think you are playing fabulously!

:bravo:

The only thing you need is a better microphone! Join the club. Haha.

Maybe a higher chair. You look to be pretty tall. A higher seat will lower the body of the guitar then you can raise the neck higher.

Although, I don't personally mind low chairs and playing just like this. If it's comfortable, let it roll!

I'm short and I actually wish my chair went lower. Haha.
Cordoba CP110: RC Recital RL50 MT: Flesh

Kent

Post by Kent » Wed Feb 06, 2019 9:55 pm

If you have been playing only 4 months, you picked the right instrument!