Barre chord trill trouble

Classical Guitar technique: studies, scales, arpeggios, theory
Forum rules
IV Laws governing the quotation/citation of music

For discussion of studies, scales, arpeggios and theory.
Tim22

Barre chord trill trouble

Post by Tim22 » Sat Feb 09, 2019 9:04 pm

Hello,
I'm trying to learn 'Passacaille' by Robert de Visee. I'm no expert on CG repertoire, but I think it's quite a well known piece. Anyway, there is this repeating phrase throughout the piece which ends with a b on the 5th string, an f# on the 4th and a d# on the 2nd. The d# also has a trill on it. I play it with my first finger barre-ing across the 2nd fret, partly as, on one of the occassions of this chord I am required to play an a on the 3rd string whilst still holding the b. I am encountering 2 problems. With my 1, 2 and 3 fingers occupied I am obliged to trill using my 4th. More often tham not, this trill sounds somewhere between 'weedy' and 'totally inaudible'. I suppose maybe I just need to develop the muscles of this finger more, but I wondered if this problem also suggests a deficiency in technique. My other problem is that, as I attempt the trill, one of the other strings buzzes a little. I think, though I am not sure, that maybe in the course of the trill I am inadvertantly releasing some of the pressure on one of the other strings. I have tried squeezing harder to counter this, but a) that is quite uncomfortable and b) It doesn't always seem to help much. I can play the chord fine without the trill, but I really want to play it properly, as it were. I would be grateful if anyone could give me any helpful suggestions or tips.
Best wishes,
Tim,
Tim, in the UK, playing an Almansa 434.

pogmoor

Re: Barre chord trill trouble

Post by pogmoor » Sun Feb 10, 2019 3:22 pm