How to practice finger strength for small fingers?

Classical Guitar technique: studies, scales, arpeggios, theory
Forum rules
IV Laws governing the quotation/citation of music

For discussion of studies, scales, arpeggios and theory.
PoYi

How to practice finger strength for small fingers?

Post by PoYi » Sat Mar 16, 2019 4:07 am

I am new to classical guitar and wasn't aware of sizing the guitar with reference to my hand size.
I bought a typical guitar with my index finger just fit the width of the fret. But when I try the bar exercises, it's hard to hit all the strings for a good sound, especially the 4th string where the joint sits. I wonder
1. Is there any exercise for increasing my ability to control my fingers such that when I "touch" the strings, I really am "hitting" the string?
2. Is it ok if I am not able to hit all the strings at one time? But then I will need to rest my joint on the string I don't have to hit, which may lead to an obvious shift of my left hand on the fret. Would that be normal?

AKim

Re: How to practice finger strength for small fingers?

Post by AKim » Sat Mar 16, 2019 5:21 am

Are you new to all stringed instruments in general or just guitar? Time, practice, experience will help. Also, general grip exercises such as squeezing a ball or putty can help with hand and arm strength. As your fingers get stronger and more dexterous, your ability to hold finger positions cleanly will improve.

PoYi

Post by PoYi » Sat Apr 27, 2019 5:12 pm

I am new to stringed instruments. Thanks for your advice AKim!

celestemcc

Post by celestemcc » Sat Apr 27, 2019 5:34 pm