Minimum speed for Recuerdos de la Alhambra

Classical Guitar technique: studies, scales, arpeggios, theory
Forum rules
IV Laws governing the quotation/citation of music

For discussion of studies, scales, arpeggios and theory.
Juan del Bosque

Minimum speed for Recuerdos de la Alhambra

Post by Juan del Bosque » Fri Apr 26, 2019 1:38 am

Well I fired up the metronome to get an honest read on my progress with this piece. I was somewhat gratified I could securely do it at 60. When I measured last year it was more like 45. Some tremelo exercises I do, like Amazing Grace, sound ok at 120 thumbstrokes per minute, but I know it's too slow for Recuerdos. At the 60 I can't do the da capo, but I noticed not many guitarists do the da capo anyway. Also the whole thing must be piano. Fortunately that's how Pepe Romero marks it in La Guitarra. I'm a musician who is willing to sacrifice speed for perfection.

barcod

Re: Minimum speed for Recuerdos de la Alhambra

Post by barcod » Fri Apr 26, 2019 6:33 pm

What do you mean you can't do the D.C? Why is returning to the beginning harder than the rest?

I think one of the definining characteristics of Recuerdos is the alternating crescendo-decrescendo in successive bars. When you say the whole thing must be piano, do you omit that? It should be piano to forte back to piano. Or something similar.

As for the speed, you're right, it's too slow for Recuerdos but to get to 120, you have to go through 60! I'm not sure what would be the "minimum speed" for this piece.

Juan del Bosque

Post by Juan del Bosque » Fri Apr 26, 2019 6:57 pm

Doing the da capo exceeds my endurance! Also recall the piece is 32nd notes, so my metronome set at 60 beats a minute is equal to 120 thumbstrokes a minute. According to that same metronome, andante starts at 76.

As for the dynamics, I do those, but I take it from p to pp then back to p...

Rasqeo

Post by Rasqeo » Fri Apr 26, 2019 7:00 pm

barcod wrote:
Fri Apr 26, 2019 6:33 pm