Essential scales - arpeggios

Classical Guitar technique: studies, scales, arpeggios, theory
Forum rules
IV Laws governing the quotation/citation of music

For discussion of studies, scales, arpeggios and theory.
Paul Hammer

Essential scales - arpeggios

Post by Paul Hammer » Thu Sep 17, 2009 7:14 pm

I am a self-taught 63 year old, who wants to improve his playing.

I have a large book of scales/arpeggios (bought from a charity shop) for grades 3 to 8.

I know scales are essential - but I have never bothered with them.

Are there 4-5 scales/arpeggios one could do to really improve one's playing? Or, is is best to slog through all of them.

However, unless I live to 90-100, the latter is not an option.

Thank you wonderful people

Paul

If so . Which ones?

Bernhard Heimann

Re: Essential scales - arpeggios

Post by Bernhard Heimann » Sat Sep 19, 2009 7:30 pm

Hi Paul!

The answer to your question is not quite easy, since you didn't give us
a hint to what level your playing (as a luthier not a beginner, I suppose :wink: ).
Working through a thick volume of scales and arpeggios will probably be no fun, take a lot of
precious time and not end in the desired success. Some kind of teacher might be helpful
to choose the best exercises to improve your playing - and be the best time saver for you.
Posting a video of your playing might also help to find your strengths and weaknesses,
but there's no such thing as a real, live teacher - if only for a couple of lessons.

Bernhard :)

bastian8021

Post by bastian8021 » Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:01 am

Hi!

Of course one can practice every scales and arpeggio possible but there are also essential ones that can improve your technique.
In my opinion here is a small list, that can help you keep your fingers ready for the repertoire:

Arpeggios:
pima and pami and pimami, you can change the bass string you play with p

Scales: