Rank Barrios' music by degree of difficulty

Classical Guitar technique: studies, scales, arpeggios, theory
Forum rules
IV Laws governing the quotation/citation of music

For discussion of studies, scales, arpeggios and theory.
reentune

Rank Barrios' music by degree of difficulty

Post by reentune » Tue Jan 27, 2015 6:23 pm

I'm starting on a Barrios jag currently, and so as not to completely burn out and give up too quickly, I'd like to get opinions on which are the easiest to play.
I have a degree in classical guitar performance, so I'm not a beginner, but Barrios is particularly difficult (in my opinion).
I can play Bach all day long because of the mathematical perfection and logic of it all, but that Barrios has his own kind of different perfection—all heart and soul. It really has to sing while it contorts your hands!

I have the 4-book Complete Works from Belwin Mills.

Let me know what you all think, and please direct me to any other discussion links with pertinent info about proficiency performing Barrios.

Gracie!

Jeffrey Armbruster

Re: Rank Barrios' music by degree of difficulty

Post by Jeffrey Armbruster » Tue Jan 27, 2015 8:24 pm

I just started working on "Oracion"-which is NOT "Oracion por todos". It has three distinct sections. the first and third section are manageable for me (I'm just shy of a year in playing classical). the second section has parts that seem beyond me. But it' funny: sometimes you plunge in and find a section of music manageable after all. In any case, Oracion is still satisfying with just the two sections...hope that this isn't blasphemy!

Gary Macleod

Post by Gary Macleod » Tue Jan 27, 2015 9:14 pm

I am amazed that you have a degree in classical guitar but have never played any Barrios ! However,I would say without doubt that I find Barrios much easier than Bach if that helps.

David Norton

Post by David Norton » Tue Jan 27, 2015 11:17 pm

reentune wrote:
I have the 4-book Complete Works from Belwin Mills.