2008-02-16/25 Philippe Villa - Touring (UK)


2008-02-16/25 Philippe Villa - Touring (UK)

Post by Brock » Wed Jan 30, 2008 11:51 pm

Saturday 16th February St Andrew’s Church, The Street, Rushmere St Andrew, IPSWICH
7.30pm Tickets: £12 (£6)

Tuesday 19th February Stratford Spanish Guitar Society, STRATFORD
8.00pm St Helen’s Church, Clifford Chambers, Nr. Stratford
Tickets: £10 (£5)

Thursday 21st February Recital Hall, Birmingham Conservatoire, BIRMINGHAM
8.00pm Tickets: £10 (£8)

Friday 22nd February Derby Guitar Society, DERBY
7.30pm Cedar Park, Murray Road, Mickleover
Tickets: £10 (£8)

Saturday 23rd February Guitar Project (U.K), BICESTER
6.30pm Marsh Gibbon Reformed Church, Tompkins Lane, Marsh Gibbon
Tickets: £10 (£8) Free for children under 16

Monday 25th February XII Bolívar Hall International Guitar Festival, LONDON
7.30pm Bolívar Hall, Grafton Way, London

Please PM me if you want contact numbers re these

User avatar
Posts: 14274
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 7:21 pm
Location: Northern England

Re: 2008-02-16/25 Philippe Villa - Touring UK

Post by Vesuvio » Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:46 am

Hello Brock,

Thank you for the notice.

For anyone interested, here is the artist's website: http://www.philippe-villa.com/index_eng.html

Best wishes, V
"There are only two things worth aiming for, good music and a clean conscience." Paul Hindemith


Re: 2008-02-16/25 Philippe Villa - Touring UK

Post by Brock » Fri Feb 22, 2008 12:42 am

I saw Villa's Birmingham performance

Coste: Fantasie Op.16 & Reverie Op.53
Giuliani: Grande Ouverture
Paganini: Romanza & Andantino Variato (from the Grand Sonata)

Cano: El Delirio
Turina: Sonata
Rudniev/Orhekov: 3 Russian pieces
Giuliani: Rossiniana Op.120, Nr.2

Plus three encores, including RDLA with all the lights out...

He played on two guitars - a replica 'romantic' guitar and modern CG, both made by Giuseppe Guagliardo

Highly recommended, if you get the chance to see him.

Return to “Archives - Classical Guitar Concerts”