For serious users of Abel armrest

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
Charles Mokotoff

For serious users of Abel armrest

Post by Charles Mokotoff » Tue Sep 15, 2015 1:25 pm

I've been using this armrest for almost 2 years now, and I mean everyday. I don't like practicing without it and use it in all my recitals. I was curious to hear from others who use this daily, not just folks who bought it and tried it out then put it in a drawer somewhere.

I just got a new guitar and have been very careful with using on the new FP, using a chamois in between it and the guitar. But I know the luthier who isn't far from me and who can touch it up should it need it, so started attaching it directly. No problems with the finish, but I notice, for some bizarre reason, its harder to attach. Sometimes it seems like its on, then falls off. On the older guitar and when I used the chamois on the new one, never a problem.

The new instrument is totally a conventional shape, so that's not it, anyone else notice any issues attaching or keeping it on the instrument?
2017 Glenn Canin Spruce

Charles Mokotoff

Re: For serious users of Abel armrest

Post by Charles Mokotoff » Wed Sep 16, 2015 1:22 pm

I've figured this out! Due to overwhelming interest in this subject ;) I will spill the beans:
The front of the armrest has two felt rectangles that protect the finish, the back has a rubber area to do the same. Why they didn't just use rubber all the way around I have no idea. But its clear that the felt is slipping off the new FP on this guitar. That's why it stays so well when I use the chamois and slips off it otherwise. I will just replace the felt somehow with some suede or other grippy soft material, should do it.
2017 Glenn Canin Spruce

oski79

Post by oski79 » Wed Sep 16, 2015 11:05 pm