parlor-sized classical guitar & - proper playing position?

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
Nemo

parlor-sized classical guitar & - proper playing position?

Post by Nemo » Sat Oct 10, 2015 6:41 pm

[I apparently posted this in the wrong place the first time, so I'm re-posting it here.]

I am considering learning classical-style playing. I have some limited knowledge of regular acoustic playing, but want to learn finger-style playing, so I thought getting introduced to classical technique would be a better place to start than taking more "regular" guitar lessons (i.e., mainly just chords and pentatonic scales, in my experience).

I am considering investing in a classical/nylon guitar, and want to get a pretty good one, but don't have a lot of money. I really like the La Patrie Motif, but one reviewer on amazon said that the smallness of the upper bout (which is about 9 inches wide) makes it difficult to position the guitar in the traditional upright position used for classical playing (he/she said that the neck ends up hanging lower than is typical). However, someone else suggested that this problem could be remedied by using a pillow instead of a footstool to prop up the instrument.

I only have experience with steel-stringed guitars, and for those I find parlor-sized ones more comfortable to play than traditional-sized ones, but when playing a steel-stringed guitar I don't position it on my left leg with the head tilted upwards, as seems to be the norm for classical-style playing. Does anyone have any views regarding the appropriateness of a parlor-sized instrument for someone new to classical guitar? I want to get something that is comfortable to play, but I also don't want to get something that will cause me to develop poor playing technique/posture.

Thank you for your time.

RobMacKillop

Re: parlor-sized classical guitar & - proper playing position?

Post by RobMacKillop » Sat Oct 10, 2015 9:48 pm