Nails wearing down during practice

Nail care, nail problems, and the use of nails in playing the classical guitar.
craigh

Nails wearing down during practice

Post by craigh » Sun Sep 02, 2018 3:54 am

I know there’s many discussions about this particular topic , but I have a different inquiry.
I’ve been playing for 20+ years and obviously have dealt with nail wear etc. But , what I’m curious about is whenever I get the ideal nail shape , after an hour or so the nails obviously have a little spot where it makes contact with the strings and that’s to be expected. But , what I’ve noticed is that when I try to buff it out using micro mesh or something similar , I can never get the “ ideal “ shape and feel back. I can make it workable , and even close up it looks nice and smooth. Anyone else have this issue ? Or some insight on what I am doing wrong ? For years I’ve just dealt with it , so that’s what I’m used to but I thought it was time to throw it into the forum ... thanks

davekear

Re: Nails wearing down during practice

Post by davekear » Sat Sep 08, 2018 1:43 am

Well it's been 6 days, and no one's chimed in, so I'll give you my 2 cents. Every little thing you do with your nails will effect your feel and tone. The anatomy of tone as it relates to fingernails is a pretty interesting subject. As your nail wears, you will have a bit more of a challenge getting a fuller tone as the left edge wears away. The fuller the nail, the more the initial contact point will be the left (thumb) side of the nail. And as it wears, the initial contact point will be more towards the center of the nail. This can be controlled to a certain extent in how you angle your hand, but generally speaking this is true. You can reinforce just the contact point with some glue and wrap, (or n-Butyl cyanoacrylate if you got it) and this will decrease the amount of wear at this point. This is just one example of many nail adventures that can affect your tone.

Nick Cutroneo