How much time to grow fingernails

Nail care, nail problems, and the use of nails in playing the classical guitar.
Bill Talley

How much time to grow fingernails

Post by Bill Talley » Sun Oct 07, 2018 3:20 am

Hi,

I'm pretty much starting from scratch as I moved from steel string with pick to nylon fingerstyle. I have two questions:

How long does it take to get the right hand up to par with fingernail growth? For example my middle finger seemed to be coming along fine, but my index, ring and thumbnails were lagging way behind. I'm wondering if I'm looking at weeks or months to get them right. (I had to file down the middle finger since was getting hung up).

I was also wondering how much practicing wears down nails? I thought maybe my ring finger was coming along slower because it was wearing down more than the others. I also do a lot of typing at work because I'm a programmer and thought this might be slowing it down too.

Thanks.
Cordoba C10 SP/IN
Alhambra P4 Cedar
Alvarez D-8 (steel string)
Love guitars, especially nylon string :^)

soltirefa

Re: How much time to grow fingernails

Post by soltirefa » Sun Oct 07, 2018 3:40 am

I wouldn't obsess about it too much. It will evolve over time and you'll get a feel for it. One can play with very short nails, even without nails.

By the way, I heard that continental drift moves at the rate that fingernails grow. Interesting.

Martin Davis

Post by Martin Davis » Sun Oct 07, 2018 6:41 am

I'm new to the classical guitar also, taking if up in July of this year and it took me up until a couple of weeks ago to to get them to a decent length. Although, I'm going for a shorter length, just 1mm over the top of the finger.
2010 Yamaha GC-31C Made in Japan

CarbonElitist

Post by CarbonElitist » Thu Oct 18, 2018 11:30 am