How many times a week do you work on your nails

Nail care, nail problems, and the use of nails in playing the classical guitar.
Thomas

How many times a week do you work on your nails

Post by Thomas » Sat Dec 15, 2018 5:03 pm

All my life I ignored my nails , I am not a professional classical guitar play I play ever thing :)
a little classic , some very simple flamenco , pop songs what so ever so perhaps that is why

Do I need to trim my nails every day?

joachim33

Re: How many times a week do you work on your nails

Post by joachim33 » Sat Dec 15, 2018 6:06 pm

Thomas wrote:
Sat Dec 15, 2018 5:03 pm
All my life I ignored my nails , I am not a professional classical guitar play I play ever thing :)
a little classic , some very simple flamenco , pop songs what so ever so perhaps that is why

You should polish every time before playing. Makes a night&day difference. Sometimes I shorten (file - scissors are an absolute no-no) only every second day. With me nail care eats ample time.

I am also an amateur and was very surprised how heavy my tutor picked on my nails when I started with her. I was using 1000 grid and she said way to coarse. She was absolutely correct. Very cheap gains regarding tone production. Essential even for an amateur.

celestemcc

Post by celestemcc » Sat Dec 15, 2018 6:53 pm

I don't trim daily, but do polish the edges daily, sometimes twice, depending on how they wear.

Scissors are a no-no: correct! As are nail clippers. If you can spend on it, glass files (Strings By Mail has a good one) are terrific for taking off length. They're better than manicurists' glass files.
2015 Connor spruce/Indian rosewood
1978 Ramirez 1a cedar

davekear

Post by davekear » Sat Dec 15, 2018 7:16 pm

Thomas wrote:
Sat Dec 15, 2018 5:03 pm

Yes, but only your toenails, leave your fingernails alone. No trimming, just filing and shaping. (Unless they're ridiculously long).