Short nails.

Nail care, nail problems, and the use of nails in playing the classical guitar.
REHII

Short nails.

Post by REHII » Tue Feb 05, 2019 11:10 pm

Any suggestions for someone that has short nails from thin nails that peel and break?

RobMacKillop

Re: Short nails.

Post by RobMacKillop » Wed Feb 06, 2019 7:27 am

Seriously, try playing without them, as I and many others do. Please see my website, half of which is devoted to those who play without them - amateurs as well as many professionals: http://rmClassicalGuitar.com

Christopher Langley
Student of the online lessons

Post by Christopher Langley » Wed Feb 06, 2019 1:51 pm

Yup. I agree with Rob.

Nails are a tonal choice and not a necessity.

If you can't grow good ones your options are no nails or fake ones. If you wanna try fakes look into guitar player nails.
Cordoba CP110: RC Recital RL50 MT:Battered Flesh

Workin' on: Sor Op. 60 No. 2

Mollbarre

Post by Mollbarre » Wed Feb 06, 2019 2:09 pm

I'm just learning too - but I have no interest in maintaining nails. Not to mention, my lifestyle doesn't lend itself to having nails either.

So, if you can be a top CG player without nails, why even worry about it?
2016 Fender CN320AS
2018 Cordoba C10 crossover
2018 Ibanez GA5TCE
...and miscellaneous bits and pieces.

a human

Post by a human » Wed Feb 06, 2019 2:17 pm

I keep mine just a bit over the tips of my fingers. In winter, I protect them by using Sally Hansen Hard as Nails. It is clear and minimal effort. They are much more likely to tear, split or snap off as they get longer or are shaped in a ramp. Don't let your nails be a distraction. They are a component that are easy to obsess over.
1965 Krempel Classical (660ish mm)
The rest come and go.

Chuah Hui Hsien

Post by Chuah Hui Hsien » Thu Feb 07, 2019 1:07 am