Nail Repair - an Alternative that Really Works!

Nail care, nail problems, and the use of nails in playing the classical guitar.
clarksvilleal

Nail Repair - an Alternative that Really Works!

Post by clarksvilleal » Sun Jan 27, 2008 7:58 pm

Hi - I am a relative newbie here, but I think I can offer a solution for some of you to the nail problem based on my own experience since I recently started back with CG studies (at the ripe old age of 61). I have problems both with occasional cracks as well as major damage, due mostly to my stubborn insistence on carrying on hazardous (to the nails) hobbies like car repair, woodworking and gardening. I stumbled on this because of a panic situation in December when the entire tip of my RH thumb nail broke almost completely off :x . I went to a local guitar shop in search of a solution. They had Rico nails, which didn't appeal to me for various reasons. But they also had a Savarez nail repair kit, consisting of a strip of fine self-adhesive silk, glue, a wooden spreader and a small foam-block abrasive pad. I actually got it for free, since it was 3 years old, and well past the expiration date. (The glue was hardened and no good.) The shop owner told me it was really just super glue. He said he didn't like using this kit much because the super glue would run all over, get under your nails and on your skin, etc.