Sor Op 60 No 1

Analyses of individual works for Classical Guitar and general discussions on analysis. Normal forum copyright rules apply.
Purnell31

Sor Op 60 No 1

Post by Purnell31 » Fri May 04, 2018 12:19 pm

I'm working on the Sor Op 60/1 study (Tecla Ed 1993) and notice that Sor suggests that g be played throughout with the fourth finger. Despite my small hands my inclination is to use the third finger. Is there anything wrong following my own inclination or should I stick to Sor's suggested fingering? Watching a few performances on YouTube there's Rob MacKillop following Sor and Simon Powis using the third finger. I'm a newbie and am keen to get it right. Thanks.
Purnell31
Cordoba C9 Parlor 630/50

rinneby

Re: Sor Op 60 No 1

Post by rinneby » Fri May 04, 2018 12:31 pm

Purnell31 wrote:
Fri May 04, 2018 12:19 pm
I'm working on the Sor Op 60/1 study (Tecla Ed 1993) and notice that Sor suggests that g be played throughout with the fourth finger. Despite my small hands my inclination is to use the third finger. Is there anything wrong following my own inclination or should I stick to Sor's suggested fingering? Watching a few performances on YouTube there's Rob MacKillop following Sor and Simon Powis using the third finger. I'm a newbie and am keen to get it right. Thanks.
I'm no guitar teacher. But my humble opinion is to play the way it feels most comfortable to you (left hand).

/J
Feel free to ask me anything about Japanese classical guitars.

RobMacKillop

Post by RobMacKillop » Fri May 04, 2018 4:03 pm